Bob Mameng

Whenever I have the gall to gripe about my day, I will think of Mameng, who has broken about 30 bones in his body starting from when he was 7. Because of a genetic disease, his bones easily collapse into each other. His knees are now in his shins. His elbows are in his forearms. Despite this, he constructs the most complicated bamboo furniture. He gardens. He crawls to church every Sunday without any help. He tells himself,

Whenever I have the gall to gripe about my day, I will think of Mameng, who has broken about 30 bones in his body starting from when he was 7. Because of a genetic disease, his bones easily collapse into each other. His knees are now in his shins. His elbows are in his forearms.

Despite this, he constructs the most complicated bamboo furniture. He gardens. He crawls to church every Sunday without any help. He tells himself, “Limang poste lang patungo simbahan.”

I jokingly call him Bob Mameng, a spin off of Bob Marley, because he constantly spews out lines of positivity and worry-free living, my favorite being “Ganito na nga ako, malulungkot pa ako. Mas okay maging masaya nalang.”

His story is my best take-home from Guimaras.

Leave a Reply

